All Day Dreaming
All Day Dreaming
3, 2, 1... LIFTOFF
10
0:00
-4:20

3, 2, 1... LIFTOFF

10

I - HELLO

Welcome to the first ☁️ All Day Dreaming ☁️ newsletter, my name is Hyla. I was diagnosed with ADHD when I was 11 years old but there were signs much earlier than that. Like when I would show up to elementary school without shoes on, multiple times a week.

As an adult, ADHD has been both an asset and a liability. I’m late, a lot. I've been fired more times than I care to admit, but at the same time, I can come up with creative ideas and problem-solve in ways that others can't.

I've worked in radio, television, and filmmaking. My creative brain has served me well, although about five years ago there was a shift. I moved away from the structures of corporate life into the wild world of freelance where I was having to lead teams and be organized all on my own. I was failing miserably to the point of paralysis, unable to get the most mundane tasks done or hit important deadlines.

It was impacting my health, my relationships, and for the first time in my life, I really had to dig deep to understand it. There are a couple of things that I learned along the way…

  1. There's no perfect solution- you need multiple tools in your toolkit.

  2. There aren’t a lot of great resources out there.

Most books couldn't keep my attention. They were either too academic or just too plain thick. I'm a visual learner, I love educating myself through videos, films, and documentaries. The fact that there are hardly any ADHD focused films (something that impacts over 10 million people in the US alone) is crazy.

I decided I would be the one to make a documentary and write a book in a way that anyone with ADHD could digest. At the start of 2020, that's exactly what I set out to do... But then COVID hit, and I had to put it all on ice which turned out to be a blessing in disguise because in August is when I joined Clubhouse👋🏼.

CH is an iPhone app that allows people to host and join audio conversations with other users. On my first day, I joined a room and was introduced to an amazing community of people who were just like me. We would talk about our experiences and share recourses. I’d listen to strangers telling my story to me, it blew my mind. I realized I could bring ☁️ All Day Dreaming ☁️ to life in ways I never imagined through conversations, interviews, co-working spaces, and music.

In just a few short months, we've already grown into a community of over 30,000 people 🤯, which is equal parts exciting, humbling, and overwhelming.

And now I’m adding something for the community, a Substack. The newsletter world is completely new to me but I'm excited to play in this playground. You can expect to see highlights from our CH conversations, ADHD cheat codes, and a schedule of upcoming events including co-working rooms and interviews. Plus, I’ll share playlists with hand-picked music from All Day Dreaming Radio.

So welcome to the ☁️ All Day Dreaming ☁️ newsletter liftoff 🚀.


II - Upcoming


III - Weekly Notes

The following are resources, questions, and thoughts shared by members of our community during the week of Feb 2nd. Thank you to Michelle and Caitlin for taking notes 😊.


IV - Disclaimer

My overall goal with All Day Dreaming is to simply help others navigate the complexities of ADHD by sharing some of the cheat codes I've picked up along my journey. No matter who the recommendation comes from, do your own diligence and consult a medical professional, especially before parting with a dime of your money. Two important things:

  1. I want to disclose that I am starting to explore ways to monetize through membership and/or sponsorships. All Day Dreaming has become a full-time job and since its inception, I have received $0. I do it because I love it, but I also love feeding my family 😉. Finding thoughtful ways to create revenue streams will allow me to continue building this beautiful community and expand its offering of resources.

  2. I am not a medical professional, and nothing I share should be interpreted as medical advice or anything of the sort. These are perspectives that I collect, create, and offer for your own reflection. Consult with a medical professional on all health matters.

10 Comments
All Day Dreaming
All Day Dreaming
Welcome to All Day Dreaming. A simple survival guide to navigating creativity, productivity, and ADHD with your host Hyla.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Hyla
Recent Episodes
45:59
52:25
46:23
47:30
49:00
47:33