All Day Dreaming
All Day Dreaming
Give Yourself More Time
2
0:00
-5:23

Give Yourself More Time

We launched two weeks ago, here's an update
2

All Day Dreaming 🟡 launched two weeks ago and I want to give you a quick update.

This is by far the biggest, most ambitious, most personal project that I've ever stepped into. And there's a lot of pressure I put on myself to get it right. Here are some learnings that I'm quickly realizing…

First, you need more time. You ALWAYS need more time. Double, or triple the time you think you need. In January, I said I would launch in three weeks and six months later here I am, LOLZZZZ. And even the night before, I was pulling an all-nighter. 🥴

GIVE YOURSELF MORE TIME

Second, the pendulum from launch day to the day after is an insane swing. Launch day is so exciting, scary and intimidating. The endorphins are running. And then day two, you're like, “I need any more members. How do I keep the members that I have? Are they all going to leave?” There are all these doubts that flood your brain. And then slowly, each day that goes by, you just put one foot in front of the other and things start to smooth out.

A couple of mantras that are that have really helped me through this process…

  1. There's no one thing that's going to make or break this community on any given day. Something great could happen. Something bad could happen. The website could go down. You could get a retweet from a big account. None of that really matters because it’s all about incremental building blocks, little Legos that you're stacking up to the sky.

  2. Enjoying the practice, ignore the outcome. I have no idea where this train is going to end up so instead of stressing about the destination I've been trying to enjoy waking up and making the thing that's in front of me. My stress-to-joy ratio is much better because of it.

This Week’s Drops:

I dropped the very first episode (and playlist) of All Day Dreaming 🟡 Radio, 45 minutes of handpicked music, specifically for creative flow. You’ll also be seeing more newsletters and a podcast this week. The “official” podcast launch date is in October, with incredible guests, so think of these as a soft opening as I try different styles and formats. I’m really looking forward to your feedback on that.

Whats Next:

We had a huge wave of people join the waitlist from ILoveCreatives.com and I’ve already started to go through the waitlist. We can't let everyone in at once. It's just too overwhelming. So we're doing small waves every few weeks and months, thanks in advance for your patience. 🙏

Ok, that's your two-week All Day Dreaming 🟡 update.

—Hyla


All Day Dreaming 🟡 is a member’s only virtual studio/community for talented ADHD creatives/artists struggling with focus/productivity. Join the waitlist at AllDayDreaming.org.

2 Comments
All Day Dreaming
All Day Dreaming
Welcome to All Day Dreaming. A simple survival guide to navigating creativity, productivity, and ADHD with your host Hyla.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Hyla